ALL the News about
Mormons, Mormonism
and the LDS Church
Mormon News: All the News about Mormons, Mormonism and the LDS Church
Posted 24 Feb 2001   For week ended July 30, 2000
Most Recent Week
Front Page
Local News
Arts & Entertainment
·New Products
·New Websites
·Mormon Stock Index
Letters to Editor
Continuing Coverage of:
Boston Temple
School Prayer
Julie on MTV
Robert Elmer Kleasen
About Mormon News
News by E-Mail
Weekly Summary
Submitting News
Submitting Press Releases
Volunteer Positions
Bad Link?

News about Mormons, Mormonism,
and the LDS Church
Sent on Mormon-News: 28Jul00

Summarized by Kent Larsen

2000 PEARL Awards Winners

OREM, UTAH -- Jenny Oaks Baker and Hilary Weeks walked away with three PEARL statuettes each in the 2000 PEARL Awards held at the McKay Events Center at UVSC in Orem on Thursday evening.

Other winners included Peter Breinholt (Performing Artist of the Year), Kenneth Cope (Male Vocalist of the Year), Sam Cardon (Producer of the Year) and Ryan Shupe and the Rubberband (Group of the Year). Weeks won honors for Female Vocalist, Songwriter and Inspirational Album of the Year. Baker took the award for Instrumentalist of the Year, Instrumental Album and Recording of the Year.

Host Thurl Bailey took two awards, including New Artist of the Year. The former forward for the Utah Jazz charmed the packed house with his gentle manner and deep voice. Co-host Eric D. Snider played the part of sidekick*"Stockton to your Malone," he quipped with Bailey during the show opening.

Highlights of the evening included: Weeks' performance of "He'll Speak Peace" from her award-winning album; the Legacy Award, presented to Crawford Gates; the Rich Gibbons Humanitarian Award, presented to a tearful and sincere Kurt Bestor; Marvin Payne stylishly placing a doily on the podium to create "the right mood" and; an appearance from Richard Dutcher and Michael Buster of God's Army, doing a playful parody of the hit film as they presented the award for Performing Artist of the Year.

The event was filmed for television and will be broadcast on KJZZ-TV on Sunday, August 20. It was also broadcast live on with pre- and post-show commentary and interviews from Scot and Maurine Proctor of

Thursday's awards program was the third PEARL Awards. Presented annually by the Faith Centered Music Association, the PEARL Awards honor excellence in artistic achievement among artists, performers and musicians who have a faith centered world-view. The entire event was produced and staffed by professionals in the music industry who volunteer their time and efforts to make this awards presentation a reality.

Following is a complete list of winners.

Sacred Recording
Jesus Once Was a Little Child
Songs My Mother Taught Me
Jenny Oaks Baker

Inspirational Recording
Mercy's Arms
Many Different Roads
Gladys Knight

Contemporary Recording
All the While
Faith In Your Heart
Thurl Bailey

Instrumental Recording
Put Your Shoulder to the Wheel
Happy Hymns
Festival Brass &Winds

Sacred Album
All Creature of Our God and Kings
BYU Concert Choir

Inspirational Album
Lead Me Home
Hilary Weeks

Contemporary Album
Dive Deep
Julie de Azevedo

Instrumental Album
Songs My Mother Taught Me
Jenny Oaks Baker

Themed or Concept Album
Let Us Adore Him
Gibbons Family

Musical Presentation or Soundtrack
American Prophet
Merrill Jenson &Sam Cardon

Male Vocalist
Kenneth Cope

Female Vocalist
Hilary Weeks

Instrumentalist of the Year
Jenny Oaks Baker

Group of the Year
Ryan Shupe &the Rubberband

New Artist of the Year
Thurl Bailey

Producer of the Year
Sam Cardon

Songwriter of the Year
Hilary Weeks

Performing Artist of the Year
Peter Breinholt

Orchestrator/Arranger of the Year
Mack Wilberg

Studio Musician of the Year
Michael Dowdle

Studio Vocalist of the Year
Jenny Jordan Frogley

Engineer of the Year
Barry Gibbons

Best Album Design
Dive Deep (Gillett + Co.)

Radio Show of the Year
Doug Wright (KSL)

Record Label of the Year
Excel Entertainment Group, Inc.



2000 PEARL Awards Winners
Faith Centered Music Association Press Release 27Jul00 A4


[an error occurred while processing this directive]

Copyright 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001 Kent Larsen · Privacy Information