ALL the News about
Mormons, Mormonism
and the LDS Church
Mormon News: All the News about Mormons, Mormonism and the LDS Church
Posted 24 Feb 2001   For week ended November 10, 2000
Most Recent Week
Front Page
Local News
Arts & Entertainment
·New Products
·New Websites
·Mormon Stock Index
Letters to Editor
Continuing Coverage of:
Boston Temple
School Prayer
Julie on MTV
Robert Elmer Kleasen
About Mormon News
News by E-Mail
Weekly Summary
Submitting News
Submitting Press Releases
Volunteer Positions
Bad Link?

News about Mormons, Mormonism,
and the LDS Church
Sent on Mormon-News: 08Nov00

By Kent Larsen

New Mormon Congressional Delegation Smaller, More Democratic

NEW YORK, NEW YORK -- Early election returns show that the Mormon delgation in the US Congress is slightly smaller and slightly more Democrat. But the remaining incumbents all won their races, giving the congressional delegation a very familiar face.

As expected, the delegation lost one seat, due to the retirement of California Republican Congressman Ron Packard. No Mormon candidate ran for Packard's seat. Arizona incumbent Matt Salmon also decided not to run, keeping a term-limit pledge, but in his case, LDS Church member Jeff Flake won the Republican nomination, preserving that seat for the delegation. In Utah, incumbent Merrill Cook is also out of the race, loosing a primary fight with Internet businessman Derek Smith, who has, in turn, lost to Democrat Jim Matheson. Both Smith and Matheson are LDS Church members.

The other Mormons running were in many ways longshots. In Colorado, Republican Jesse Thomas lost his bid for the seat of Diana DeGette in Colorado's 1st district. Utah's Democratic challengers Kathleen McConkie Collinwood, Scott Howell and Bill Orton, all lost their bids.

Meanwhile, US Senator Orrin Hatch, the only Mormon senator facing an election this cycle, won handily, as did incumbent Utah Governor Mike Leavitt.

The following is a complete list of the candidates and current office holders we know about, along with their results, as of about 1 AM this morning. Please let Mormon News know any additional information about any Mormon candidates.

American Samoa
Eni FaleomavaegaUS House (non-voting)

Open SeatJeff Flake RepublicanUS HouseWon w/53% of vote
IncumbentMatt SalmonRepublicanUS HouseRetiring (Term Limit Pledge)

IncumbentJohn DoolittleRepublicanUS House Won w/64% of vote
IncumbentWally Herger RepublicanUS House Won w/60% of vote
IncumbentBuck McKeon RepublicanUS House Won w/67% of vote
IncumbentRon Packard RepublicanUS House Retiring

ChallengerJesse Thomas RepublicanUS House Lost w/28% of vote
Incumbent Mark Udall Democrat US House Won w/54% of vote

Incumbent Mike Simpson RepublicanUS House Won w/72% of vote
Incumbent Mike Crapo RepublicanUS SenateSeat not up for election

New Mexico
Incumbent Tom Udall Democrat US House Won w/67% of vote

Incumbent Harry Reid Democrat US SenateSeat not up for election

Incumbent Ernest Istook RepublicanUS House Won w/68% of vote

Incumbent Gordon Smith RepublicanUS SenateSeat not up for election

Incumbent Jim Hansen RepublicanUS House Won w/69% of vote
ChallengerKathleen McConkie CollinwoodDemocratUS House Lost w/27% of vote
Incumbent Merrill Cook RepublicanUS House Lost Primary
ChallengerJim Matheson Democrat US House Won w/53% of vote
ChallengerDerek Smith RepublicanUS House Lost w/45% of vote
Incumbent Chris Cannon RepublicanUS House Won w/63% of vote
Incumbent Robert Bennet RepublicanUS SenateSeat not up for election
Incumbent Orrin Hatch RepublicanUS SenateWon w/72% of vote
ChallengerScott Howell Democrat US SenateLost w/25% of vote
Incumbent Mike Leavitt RepublicanGovernor Won w/60% of vote
ChallengerBill Orton Democrat Governor Lost w/38% of vote
ChallengerJeremy FriedbaumIAP Governor Lost w/2% of vote


[an error occurred while processing this directive]

Copyright 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001 Kent Larsen · Privacy Information